Sri Lanka News and Information Portal

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Mahinda magic works

Article Index
Mahinda magic works
Page 2
All Pages
  • MR gets huge majority of 1.8 million
  • SF a distant 2nd, loses home base
  • MR takes 16 districts, SF only six
  • A’galle defies CBK, gives MR majority
  • SF wins North and East
  • JVP-UNP marriage fails to deliver

President Mahinda Rajapaksa scored a historic victory over Opposition presidential candidate, General (retd) Sarath Fonseka at the first national poll since the collapse of the LTTE last May. The incumbent President polled a staggering 6,015,934 (57.88%) to set the stage for parliamentary elections before end of April. Fonseka polled 4,173,185 (40.15%) while the rest polled a total of 204,494 (1.9%).

Fonseka lost his home base, the Ambalangoda electorate by a majority of 12,297 votes. The President polled 33,488 (62.79%) against 19,191 (35.98%) obtained by Fonseka, who vowed to win the area though the government targeted the former Army Chief’s home town. The President secured Kandy and Matale while Fonseka took Nuwara Eliya with a 30,000 vote majority though Wickremesinghe secured the entire Central Province with over 250,000 vote majority at the last presidential polls. The President also comfortably secured Galle, Matara, Hambantota, Colombo, Kalutara, Gampaha, Kurunegala, Puttalam, Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa, Badulla, Moneragala, Ratnapura and Kegalle.

Fonseka secured Batticaloa, Digamadulla, Trincomalee, Jaffna, Vanni though Wickremesinghe at the last presidential poll won 11 electoral districts.

Although the government ensured a violence-free post-poll environment with a heavy presence of the police and troops in the City and its suburbs to meet any eventuality, public transport failed. Government sources said that a decision to declare Wednesday (January 27) a public and Bank holiday contributed to breakdown of public transport. Most the private buses, too, kept off the roads.

At the last presidential election in November 2005, the then Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa and Opposition candidate, Ranil Wickremesinghe won 11 electoral districts each.

Wickremesinghe secured Colombo, Batticaloa, Digamadulla, Badulla, Mahanuwara, Trincomalee, Jaffna, Nuwara Eliya, Matale, Vanni and Puttalam districts.

Rajapaksa won Galle, Anuradhapura, Gampaha, Matara, Polonnaruwa, Kalutara, Hambantota, Moneragala, Kurunegala, Ratnapura and Kegalle districts.

Rajapaksa secured the 2005 poll by a mere 180,796 votes though he scored an unprecedented victory, undoubtedly the biggest at a presidential poll, the first peacetime election since the end of war.

SLFP MP Mangala Samaraweera (SLFP-Mahajana Wing), who last week boasted that he would take over the SLFP after incumbent President and SLFP leader Mahinda Rajapaksa, lost his second bid at the presidency ended up losing his own electorate. The President polled 33,948 (55.07 %) against 27,102 (43.97 %) obtained by his rival to secure Matara.


Featured Articles

Defeating LTTEterrorism | How the country could face the threat of UN war crimes inquiry

LLRC told of President Rajapaksa’s right to take military action Senior lawyer Gomin Dayasri says the Sri Lankan government can justify its war against LTTE terror on the basis of...

Sunday, 31 October 2010


Will there be a Violent Resurgence of the LTTE soon?

The Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam(LTTE) was virtually demolished in May 2009  by the Sri Lankan armed forces in a series of battles in the Karaithuriapatru AGA division of  the...

TUSEDAY, 16 November 2010


More in: Politics, Sri Lanka, Defence, LTTE, International

Latest Articles