Sri Lanka News and Information Portal

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

UNP govt. with Prez backing


UNP-led United National Front for Good Governance (UNFGG) secured ten out of 22 electoral districts, including Colombo to obtain the largest block of seats at the Aug. 17 parliamentary polls, though it couldn’t secure a simple majority in 225-member parliament.

The UNP won 106 seats, including 13 National List slots, UPFA 95 with 12 NL slots, ITAF 16 with 2 NL slots and the JVP six with two NL slots. The EPDP and the SLMC won one seat each and got no NL slots.

Authoritative political sources told The Island that President Maithripala Sirisena had assured SLFP’s backing to a future UNP government and, therefore, it wouldn’t be difficult for the new government to secure the required majority in Parliament. Sources further said that the UPFA’s defeat had automatically defused premiership crisis in the UPFA. President Maithripala Sirisena was expected to discuss the situation with the SLFP/UPFA group to reach an understanding regarding the formation of the next government. The new parliament is scheduled to meet on Sept. 1.

The SLFP-led UPFA won nine districts, whereas the four-party Tamil National Alliance (TNA) comfortably won Jaffna, Vanni and Batticaloa electoral districts.

The JHU, SLMC, ACMC and National Union of Workers contested on the UNP ticket. The grouping polled 5,098,927 votes to obtain 93 seats under Proportional Representation system. The SLFP-led UPFA secured 4,732,669 votes to obtain 83 seats, whereas the Illankai Thamil Arasu Kadchi (14), the JVP (4) EPDP (1) and the SLMC (1) shared the rest. The JVP, ITAK, SLMC and EPDP polled 543,944, 515,963, 44,193 and 33,481 votes, respectively.

The SLMC contested Batticaloa and Vanni electoral districts on its own while contesting in several other districts on the UNP ticket. The ACMC too contested on its own in the Puttalam and Ampara Districts.

In addition to Colombo, the UNP secured Gampaha, Nuwara Eliya, Mahanuwara, Trincomalee, Digamadulla, Puttalam, Polonnaruwa, Badulla and Kegalle.

Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa led the UPFA to a narrow win in the Kurunegala district. The UPFA also won Kalutara, Galle, Matara, Hambantota, Matale, Anuradhapura, Moneragama and Ratnapura. The UPFA lost President Maithripala Sirisena’s Polonnaruwa stronghold with the UNP comfortably winning two (Polonnaruwa and Medirigiriya electorates) out of three.

Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka’s Democratic Party, Tamil United Liberation Front (TULF) led by veteran politician V. Anandasangaree and an Independent Group fielded by ex-LTTE cadres failed to secure seats.

At the last presidential election in April 2010, under then General Sarath Fonseka’s leadership, the Democratic National Alliance (DNA) secured seven seats. The DNA’s seven included JVP’s four seats. At the last parliamentary election held close on the heels of the presidential poll, the UPFA won a whopping 144 seats, i


World Clock


Latest Videos

Horton Plains-...
Viewed 4307 times

Sri Lanka Ocean of...
Viewed 3900 times

Clarence Wijewardena -...
Viewed 4430 times

Colombo lotus tower...
Viewed 4172 times

Mervin Silva speaks...
Viewed 6942 times

Featured Articles

Defeating LTTEterrorism | How the country could face the threat of UN war crimes inquiry

LLRC told of President Rajapaksa’s right to take military action Senior lawyer Gomin Dayasri says the Sri Lankan government can justify its war against LTTE terror on the basis of...

Sunday, 31 October 2010


Will there be a Violent Resurgence of the LTTE soon?

The Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam(LTTE) was virtually demolished in May 2009  by the Sri Lankan armed forces in a series of battles in the Karaithuriapatru AGA division of  the...

TUSEDAY, 16 November 2010


More in: Politics, Sri Lanka, Defence, LTTE, International

Latest Articles